About the Commission

In February 2019, the Victorian Government released the Commission's Terms of Reference. You can read the Terms of Reference on our key documents page.

The government appointed Penny Armytage AM as the Chair of the Royal Commission along with Dr Alex Cockram, Professor Allan Fels AO and Professor Bernadette McSherry as Commissioners.

Penny Armytage AM


Professor Allan Fels AO


Dr Alex Cockram


Professor Bernadette McSherry


Expert Advisory Committee

An Expert Advisory Committee has been established to provide advice to the Commission. The Committee is chaired by Professor Patrick McGorry AO, and also includes Professor James Ogloff AM, Ms Anne Doherty, Dr Gerry Naughtin, Ms Erandathie Jayakody, Mr Julian Gardner AM, Ms Honor Eastly and Mr Jim Williamson.

The Committee brings a wealth of experience to the Commission, including lived experience, and extensive professional and sector experience with Victoria's mental health system.

You can read the Expert Advisory Committee's Terms of Reference on our key documents page.

Our purpose

The Commission wants to provide the community with a clear and ambitious set of actions that will change Victoria’s mental health system and enable Victorians to experience their best mental health now and into the future.

We will make a sustained effort to reduce the stigma and discrimination associated with mental illness and promote more inclusive communities throughout Victoria.

To develop our findings and recommendations, we will engage widely with Victorian communities and encourage people to share their experiences and suggestions.

The Commission will focus on identifying and solving system-wide issues, rather than investigating individual cases or incidents.